Menu
Log in
Home Page

“Taking learning deeper, wider, further”

Who's Who in OLT

   
First Name Surname Date of Appointment / position Email
Trustees  
Dave Cheeseman Signatory david.cheeseman@oceanlearning.org.uk
Peter Rouch, Ven Dr Signatory peter.rouch@winchester.anglican.org
Jeff Williams Signatory Jeff.Williams@portsmouth.anglican.org
(Andrea) (Ford)   Andrea.Ford@winchester.anglican.org
       
Directors  
Dave Cheeseman Founding david.cheeseman@oceanlearning.org.uk
Ralph Batten 07/12/2015 ralphbatten@outlook.com
Dominic Biles 23/11/2017 dominic.biles9@gmail.com
Stuart Clark 11/10/2017 stuart.clark@oceanlearning.org.uk
Simon Cox 07/12/2015 simon.cox@oceanlearning.org.uk
Tim Matthews 11/07/2018 tim@lovechurch.org.uk
Stephen Orman 24/11/2016 stephen.orman@oceanlearning.org.uk
Michael Thomas 24/11/2016 michaeljordanthomas@gmail.com
       
Clerks  
Sonia Lomax St Luke's CE Primary School sonia.lomax@oceanlearning.org.uk
Jenny Tarrant Heathlands Primary Academy jenny.tarrant@oceanlearning.org.uk
Sonia Lomax Board sonia.lomax@oceanlearning.org.uk
YourClerk   Bethany and St Clement's & St John's https://www.yourclerk.org.uk/
YourClerk   Heatherlands Primary School https://www.yourclerk.org.uk/
YourClerk   Queens Park Infant Academy info@yourclerk.org.uk 
       
OLT Central Team and Headteachers  
Stephen Orman OLT Executive Headteacher (CEO) stephen.orman@oceanlearning.org.uk
Paul Knight OLT Chief Operating Officer (CCO) paul.knight@oceanlearning.org.uk
Nicola Gay OLT HR Manager nicola.gay@oceanlearning.org.uk
Sue Grey OLT Operations Manager sue.grey@oceanlearning.org.uk
Rebecca Holmes OLT Finance Manager rebecca.holmes@oceanlearning.org.uk

Tracey

Edwards

Queens Park Infants Academy Headteacher

tracey.edwards@queensparkinfant.academy  

Andy Poole St Clement's & St John's CE Infant School Headteacher andy.poole@oceanlearning.org.uk
Mark Saxby St Luke's CE Primary Headteacher mark.saxby@oceanlearning.org.uk
Naomi Shrimpton Heathlands Primary Academy Headteacher naomi.shrimpton@oceanlearning.org.uk
Lawrence Woodward Bethany CE Junior School Headteacher lawrence.woodward@oceanlearning.org.uk
Christian Malone Heatherlands Primary School Headteacher c.malone@heatherlands.org

Meet our Directors

David Cheeseman: Chair of Directors and Trustee

 

Dave Cheeseman is a retired Actuary, having held a number of senior financial and strategic roles in the insurance industry.

He has been a Governor since 1994, and was Chair of Governors at Heathlands for 10 years.

He is a member of the Bournemouth Schools Forum and the Bournemouth School Improvement Board.

Ralph Batten: Director

Ralph is currently operating as The Best Practice Network’s (Bristol) Director of Inspections and Accountability. In this role he is responsible for developing a range of strategic support programmes and products for school leaders and governors as well as creating new materials to enable schools and colleges to confidently undertake self reviews and be accountable to a range of organisations.

 

From 2009 until October 2014 Ralph was Assistant Director of Inspections for Serco Inspections and key to the successful delivery of Ofsted Inspections throughout the Serco Ofsted Inspection region. During this time had responsibility for the Inspection Workforce ensuring new inspectors were trained and accredited as well as the overall responsibility for some 1200 Ofsted inspectors professional development. Prior to this (1974 – 1996) Ralph had a very successful career as a Primary teacher and Headteacher in the London Borough of Lewisham before being trained as an Ofsted Inspector and being appointed a Senior Lecturer in Primary Education at Christchurch College Canterbury. During his time there he was seconded to work with the TTA and Hay McBer to write and develop the Leadership Programme for Serving Headteachers. This involved both piloting the programmes as well as then training facilitators and evaluating the impact and effectiveness of programmes. Ralph then helped develop a very successful Inspection and Consultancy business in Dorset before joining Serco in 2000 as Director of Training. During this time he led and managed the Serco NCSL leadership programmes in the South of England as well as becoming the Director of the Leadership Programmes for Serving Headteachers in Wales. This involved both programme design as well as training the facilitators and evaluating programmes. His consultancy work expanded into being asked to join the School and Colleges Team in the States of Jersey where for five years he had responsibility for strategic leadership development and leading on the creation of the Jersey Accountability Framework for Schools.

 

Ralph still lives in rural Dorset and has recently returned to writing children’s books in his spare time.

Michael Thomas: Director

Michael is currently chairman of the UK Board for International Nepal Fellowship, a long established NGO helping the poor and marginalised in that country.  He has a strong desire to work with those needing help whatever their status and situation.

 

Over 25 years until 2013 were spent working in international cross cultural NGO’s particularly those focused on work to Arabic speaking countries. Also in charities working in senior leadership roles bringing education, relief, skill training, medical care, compassion and many other needs to those without. This has given a good understanding of charity work and structure and the benefit of enthusing young and old. Naturally all this should be focused to see excellent outcomes and careful use of the available, and always limited, resources. In addition, many years have been spent working in the business community in this country both as an employee and in establishing and running two successful business, one in print and the other in plastic manufacturing.

 

Additionally, Michael is involved with a church, local to home in Wimborne, as treasurer and in other capacities.

 

Being a father of three daughters and grandfather to five who live across the world there is always an opportunity for travel, exploration and the discovery of new ways and opportunities.

Dominic Biles: Director

Dominic has been a Human Resources professional for 20 years, holding senior leadership roles with a number of large organisations across a variety of industries. These roles have allowed a specific focus on learning and development, talent management and succession planning.

 

Dominic has been a school governor since 2013 and is Chair of Governors at Heatherlands Primary School, a National Support School within the Ocean Learning Trust.

Tim Matthews: Director

I am currently Priest In Charge at St Clement’s Boscombe and Pioneer Minister at St Swithun’s Bournemouth. We moved to Bournemouth in 2014. The project at St Clement’s has involved a deep partnership with its two local OLT schools (St Clement’s and Bethany), where I currently serve as Foundation Governor.

 

Previously I was Curate at Holy Trinity Bournemouth (HTB) for 6 years. I completed my theological training at Oxford University. Prior to that I was a Chartered Accountant with KPMG. I also hold a PhD in Marketing and Social Psychology and a Diploma in Social Science Research Methodology.

 

I am married to Debi, previously a secondary school teacher, and have three young children - all of whom are currently educated by OLT at St Clements and Bethany schools. To relax I enjoy water sports and outdoor adventure.

Stuart Clark: Director

I have been married for the past 40 years and have three children and five grandchildren, aged 2-8. I have been in secondary education for 36 years and have been retired for the last three years. I taught English throughout my career and for most of the time held various leadership posts, first as Head of English, then Director of a large sixth form and finally as Headteacher of a large secondary comprehensive school of nearly 1500 students. In the latter post, we suffered two major fires, one as a result of arson and one as a result of a massive lightning bolt. This resulted in nearly £20 million of investment and enabled us to redevelop the school. At the same time, the school continued to flourish and grow despite the considerable disruption caused by extensive building works.

 

Through much of my life, I have been a convinced Christian and have played an active part in a number of very different but equally good churches.

 

I strongly believe that the quality of education and guidance children receive from the earliest years through to adulthood is of enormous importance and worthy of very careful protection and development by teachers and Governors alike. I particularly appreciate the values cultivated by a Church of England school which seem to me to give a vital foundation for life.

 

Music and the performing arts are a lifelong passion of mine, as is sport. While I see academic success as being a crucial aspect of school life, I also see considerable worth in the wider curriculum in cultivating important life skills and talents that young people can go on to deploy to great effect throughout their lives in and beyond work.

Top